September 13, 2019 (New York, NY)— GRAMMY® Award-nominated multi-platinum singer, songwriter, author, and activist Mary Lambert is back with her second full-length album, Grief Creature, set for release on November 15, 2019.


Once again, the songstress delivers an empowering, engaging, and enlightening body of work driven by her instantly recognizable voice and confessional writing. This time around, she worked alongside friend and engineer Jeremy Cays in Sequim, WA. Together, they spent over 250 hours in the studio and Mary self-produced 16 of the album’s 17 tracks—a career-first. She composed string quartets, programmed drums, and even engineered a track herself. Drawing on a breakup, a house fire, a major bipolar episode, and “lots and lots of therapy,” she built this out of five years through 20 different incarnations and arrived at a definitive collection. As a result, it showcases her most personal, poetic, and poignant songs to date. Most notably, the song “House of Mirrors” [feat. Macklemore] marks a full circle moment for Lambert; a reunion alongside her “Same Love” collaborator with thoughtful messaging and a powerhouse hook.


This is her first full-length since 2014’s Heart On My Sleeve and the first release of new music since her 2017 critically acclaimed EP, Bold.


Last year, Lambert published her second collection of poetry, Shame is an Ocean I Swim Across. The book would be featured by everyone from People to Entertainment Weekly and immediately became a fan favorite.


Mary Lambert has touched lives around the world and made history along the way. On the heels of her 2012 independent debut EP Letters Don’t Talk, she joined forces with Macklemore & Ryan Lewis on the triple-platinum “Same Love.” It garnered two GRAMMY® Award nominations and won an MTV VMA. At the GRAMMY® telecast, she engaged in a historic performance alongside the duo and Madonna as Queen Latifah married 33 same-sex couples. In between three years of touring, she continued at a prolific pace with the Welcome To The Age of My Body EP, Heart on My Sleeve full-length, and gold-selling single “Secrets,”which ascended to #1 on the Billboard Dance Chart. In recognition of her humanitarian efforts, the Department of Health and Human Services honored her as a chairperson. She notably raised over $68K in eight hours to fund her 2017 independent EP, Bold. She writes her next chapter on the new album in 2019.


Grief Creature Track Listing:
1. Fine/Finally
2. Shame
3. Me, Museum
4. Sister
5. Born Sad
6. Write You a Song
7. Steady & Sure
8. Easy to Leave (feat. Maiah Manser)
9. Knife
10. House of Mirrors (feat. Macklemore)
11. Not Ready to Die Yet
12. Climbing Out
13. Feel With Me (feat. Hollis)
14. Trauma is a Stalker
15. If You Ever Leave Somebody
16. Another Rape Poem
17. Bless This Hell (feat. Julien Baker)



Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply